

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 819 TAYLOR STREET, ROOM 14A02 FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76102-9003

FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION **300 E. 8TH STREET, ROOM 826 AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701**

December 10, 2021

In Reply Refer to: HPP-TX

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO) Transportation Conformity Determination Amended 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan and 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program

Mr. Marc D. Williams, Executive Director Texas Department of Transportation 125 E. 11th Street Austin, TX 78701-2483

Dear Mr. Williams:

We have reviewed the documentation supporting the transportation conformity determination for the amended 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) adopted by the El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization's Transportation Policy Board on May 22, 2020. Based upon our review and consultation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), and the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), we hereby find:

that the amended 2045 MTP and 2021-2024 TIP meet all the requirements for making a joint conformity determination under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.

Additionally, we find

- that the amended 2045 MTP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.324 regarding the development and content of metropolitan transportation plans in air quality non-attainment areas; and
- that the 2021-2024 TIP satisfactorily complies with the requirements of 23 CFR §450.326 regarding the development and content of transportation improvement programs in air quality non-attainment areas.

Mr. Marc Williams Page 2 December 10, 2021

The interagency consultative partners have indicated that they have no unresolved issues concerning this conformity determination in their letters dated: December 9, 2021 for EPA, December 7, 2021 for TCEQ and December 9, 2021 for TxDOT. The conformity determination and procedures used to make this determination are in accordance with the provisions of the transportation conformity rule (40 CFR Parts 51 and 93), dated August 15, 1997, as amended.

This action

- does not restart the four-year time clock associated with the update of the MTP. Accordingly, an updated MTP and corresponding transportation conformity determination will be required by November 6, 2022; and
- satisfies the requirement that transportation conformity must be determined for any updated or amended MTP or TIP.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) acts as executive agent for the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) on metropolitan transportation plan and transportation improvement program air quality conformity determinations. Accordingly, this letter will serve as a joint FHWA/FTA conformity determination.

Should you have any questions concerning this action, please contact Jose Campos at <u>Jose.Campos@dot.gov</u> or (512) 536-5932 or Barbara Maley at <u>Barbara.Maley@dot.gov</u> or (214) 224-2175.

Sincerely yours,

MARCUS Digitally signed by MARCUS D WILNER Date: 2021.12.10 16:11:21 -06'00'

For Achille Alonzi
Division Administrator

Electronic copies:

Federal Transit Administration, Region 6 (FTA-6)

Don Koski David Bartels

Marc Oliphant

Federal Highway Administration, Texas Division (FHWA-TX)

Michael Leary Jose Campos
Barbara Maley Genevieve Bales

Carl Highsmith Thomas 'Tom' Beeman

TX-Finance

Federal Highway Administration, New Mexico Division (FHWA-NM)

Cynthia 'Cindy' Vigue

Rodolfo Monge-Oviedo Greg Heitmann

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6 (EPA)

Guy Donaldson Jeff Riley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Donna Huff Jamie Zech

New Mexico Environment Department (NMED)

Michael Baca

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Transportation Planning and Programming Division (TPP)

Jessica Butler Roger Beall
Peggy Thurin Janie Temple
Raymond Sanchez Laura Norton

Public Transportation Division

Eric Gleason Karen Buckhard

Environmental Affairs Division (ENV)

Doug Booher Tim Wood

Glendora Lopez

El Paso District (ELP)

Tomas Trevino Eddie Valtier Marty Boyd Art Estrada

New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT)

Jolene Herrera Trent Doolittle

El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization (EPMPO)

Eduardo Calvo Harrison Plourde

City of El Paso, Sun Metro

Ellen Smyth